Thursday, 19 February 2015

Tell Tale by Mark Sennen

Tell Tale 
By Mark Sennen
Published by Avon, Harper Collins UK (12th February 2015)
ISBN: 978-0007587872

Publisher's description


But before Charlotte can get her revenge, disturbing events start to unfold on Dartmoor…

A woman's naked body is found near an isolated reservoir on the bleak winter moors. When the woman's housemate also goes missing, Charlotte knows she must move fast.

But in a police force tainted by corruption, Charlotte's hunt for the killer won't be easy.

And resisting her own urge to kill will be even harder…

A page-turning, terrifying crime thriller, perfect for fans of Peter May and Tim Weaver, and TV series Broadchurch and Scott and Bailey.

My verdict
I hadn't read a DI Savage book before, so I was very interested to discover if I could read this fourth book in the series without reading the first three. Thanks to a well written plot, with enough background information about DI Savage's past, I was able to do so. There were slight spoilers about the previous books, but not enough to turn me off reading these as well at some point.

Tell Tale starts off as the search for a murderer, following the discovery of the body of a naked young woman on the moors. However, the book is about far more than this, with several subplots that come together at the end in one giant web of deception.

One subplot concerns the identity of the hit and run driver who killed DI Savage's young daughter five years earlier. And how DI Savage is torn between doing the right thing as an officer of the law and the bitter choice of a mother tormented with grief.

Another involves police corruption and a cover up to protect those involved in a criminal act.

And then there is another subplot about the bloody slaughter of horses in satanic rituals.

Tell Tale is an intriguing story, with a strong independent female lead character. The story moves along at a decent pace, with enough action and new events to keep the book flowing constantly. There are plenty of twists and turns as the story unfolds, right until the end. 

I look forward to reading more DI Savage books.

I received an Advance Reader Copy from the publisher through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

No comments:

Post a Comment