Monday, 2 November 2015

Nowhere Child by Rachel Abbott

Nowhere Child
By Rachel Abbott
Published by Black Dot Publishing (14 October 2015)

Publisher's description
Someone is looking for Tasha. But does she want to be found?

Eight months ago Tasha Joseph ran away, and her stepmother, Emma, has been searching for her ever since. She is desperate to give Tasha the home and security she deserves.

The problem is, Emma isn’t the only one looking for Tasha. The police are keen to find her too. She could be a vital witness in a criminal trial, and DCI Tom Douglas has a team constantly on the lookout for her. But Tasha remains hidden, and nobody appears to have seen her.

Suddenly, the stakes are raised. Somebody is offering money – a lot of money – for information about Tasha’s whereabouts.

Tom and Emma know they have never been closer to finding the young girl. But they also recognise that she has never been closer to danger. Can they find her first?

She can run – but for how long can she hide?

My verdict
I really enjoyed Rachel Abbott's Stranger Child. And although I didn't feel the ending left me hanging, I certainly wanted to know more about what happened to the characters afterwards. So I was excited to read Nowhere Child, a novella that ties up all the loose ends perfectly.

In Nowhere Child, we meet Tasha eight months after Stranger Child ends. This short book is cram-packed with tension, suspense and intrigue, as we follow her story. It's lovely to come back to familiar characters, as well as some new ones. The book is well-written and the characters are all well-developed. The story feels very real and it was difficult to put it down.

This novella is definitely one for fans of Rachel Abbott and Stranger Child. It's difficult for me to know whether this could be read as a standalone, but it certainly reads as a complete story in itself.

I received an Advance Reader Copy from the author in exchange for an honest review.

1 comment:

  1. I haven't read any of those books, sounds good though. Will need to look the author up, thanks.