Monday, 20 June 2016

The Killing Files by Nikki Owen

The Killing Files
By Nikki Owen
Published by Mira Books (2 June 2016)
ISBN: 978-1848454415

Publisher's description
Dr Maria Martinez is out of prison and on the run.
Her mission? To get back to the safety of her family.
Little does she know that this might be the most dangerous place of all…

Don’t miss the second in Nikki Owen’s electrifying Project trilogy, perfect for fans of Nicci French and Charles Cumming.

My verdict
The Killing Files is the second book in The Project Trilogy, a fascinating and action-packed series of thrillers. It's a fast paced, easy and relatively quick read filled with science and high octane moments.

Family secrets, lies and deception dominate the complex and intriguing story, which explores Maria's mysterious past. Maria's Aspergers is a main part of the plot, something you don't often find in crime or action thrillers. This gives The Killing Files a unique feel. The introduction of a new character, Chris, injects some humour into the book, especially in relation to his association with Maria. I'm hoping their friendship will be explored further in the final instalment of the trilogy.

The story switches between the past and present. The past is the 'what happens in the lead up to the present day' so there's actually very little time between the two different threads. There are also some flashbacks to Maria's earlier life and her association with the mysterious 'Project'.

As the book progresses, the tension builds up, with so many twists and turns that it left me quite breathless. Maria has no idea to trust - and nor did I, as the reader.

I suggest you read the first book - Subject 375/The Spider in the Corner of the Room - beforehand. This second book picks up not long after the previous one and I don't feel it could be read as a standalone very easily. You need the background in the first book to understand the characters, and you may miss out on the whole dynamics of the plot if you don't read these books in order.

I received an Advance Reader Copy from the publisher through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

No comments:

Post a Comment