Sunday, 7 June 2015

Dance with the Enemy by Rob Sinclair

Dance with the Enemy
By Rob Sinclair
Published by Clink Street Publishing (2 March 2015)
ISBN: 978-1909477087

Publisher's description
Carl Logan was the perfect agent. A loner, with no real friends or family, he was trained to deal with any situation with cold efficiency, devoid of emotion. But Logan isn't the man he used to be, or the asset he once was. Five months ago his life changed forever when he was captured, tortured and left for dead by Youssef Selim, one of the world's most violent terrorists. When Selim mysteriously reappears in Paris, linked to the kidnapping of America's Attorney General, Logan smells his chance for revenge. Pursuing his man relentlessly, oblivious to the growing trail of destruction that he leaves in his wake, Logan delves increasingly deep into the web of lies and deceit surrounding the kidnapping. Finally, he comes to learn just what it means to Dance with the Enemy.

My verdict
Dance with the Enemy will appeal to fans of Jack Reacher and Ben Hope. The book contains a bit of everything you would expect from an action thriller - fast-paced writing, dramatic chase scenes, deception, revenge and even a hint of romance.

Carl Logan is a special agent, rescued from life as an unruly teenager with little future and trained to become a killing machine. He has a habit of acting before thinking, which can leave disaster and dead bodies in his wake. Yet he gets the villain in the end.

The action kicks off straight away, which really drew me into the story, and I found the book hard to put down. I loved the well-developed characters, particular Logan and his interaction with his boss Mackie and FBI agent Grainger (who brought out his softer side).

I couldn't wait to read the next book - Rise of the Enemy - so read it straight after this one. I hope a third Carl Logan book is in the planning.

I received an Advance Reader Copy from the publisher through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Read my review of the second book - Rise of the Enemy here.

No comments:

Post a Comment