Sunday, 7 June 2015

Rise of the Enemy by Rob Sinclair

Rise of the Enemy
By Rob Sinclair
Published by Clink Street Publishing (30 April 2015)
ISBN: 978-1909477896

Publisher's description
Everyone has a breaking point. Carl Logan might just have found his. 
For the past 19 years, Agent Carl Logan has devoted his life to his work for the Joint Intelligence Agency; an intelligence agency controlled jointly by the USA and the UK. Policing, espionage and elite armed forces combined in one secretive and powerful network.
When the JIA sends Logan on a routine mission to Russia it should have been simple. But when his cover is blown, he's transported into a world of hell he thought he would never see again.
Something is different this time, though, and before long doubts begin to surface in Logan's mind as to why the assignment went so wrong. Logan has never been short of enemies. And sometimes the enemy is closer to home than you think.
Could his own people really have set him up? The odds are against him. But Logan isn't a man who likes to be cornered. And when you poke a caged animal, you'd better be prepared for the consequences...

My verdict
Yet again Rob Sinclair dives straight into the action. In his latest book Rise of the Enemy, special agent Carl Logan is captured and tortured for three months. He is left wondering whether he has been abandoned by his Agency. And he has no idea who to trust. The story switches between past and present - Logan's current situation on the run and what happened to him over the last three months.

Rob Sinclair has a descriptive way of writing, incorporating facts about his characters without making this a chore to read. So even someone's eye colour or clothing seems relevant, and nothing is superfluous. His characters are so well developed that you feel like you know them personally by the end of the book. The intrigue and action last from beginning to end.

This is a great book for fans of Jack Reacher and Ben Hope. I hope that the author has a third Carl Logan book planned.

I received an Advance Reader Copy from the publisher through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Read my review of the first book - Dance with the Enemy - here.

No comments:

Post a Comment