Tuesday, 23 June 2015

Only the Brave by Mel Sherratt

Only the Brave
By Mel Sherratt
Published by Thomas & Mercer (26 May 2015)
ISBN: 978-1477830628

Publisher's description
When one of the notorious Johnson brothers is murdered and a bag of money goes missing, a deadly game of cat and mouse is set in motion.

DS Allie Shenton and her team are called in to catch the killer, but the suspects are double-crossing each other and Allie has little time to untangle the web of lies.

As she delves deeper into the case, things take a personal turn when Allie realises she is being stalked by the very same person who attacked her sister 17 years ago and left her for dead.

My verdict
Only the Brave is Mel Sherratt's third DS Allie Shenton book. Although this book could be read as a standalone, I suggest reading this series in order. In Only the Brave, characters return from the previous books and the background story about Allie's past continues.

This book is about crime, dodgy dealings, deception and, ultimately, money. When a man is stabbed to death, the police begin their search for the murderer, but none of the people involved are forthcoming with their information. Meanwhile, money that the dead man was carrying has gone missing, and the rightful owner is determined to find it.

Allie Shenton is a tough cookie and always gets the results, but in Only The Brave you get to see her more vulnerable side (a nice contrast against the hard characters of the crime world). Behind the scenes, her life is in turmoil. Her sister Karen, who was left for dead in an attack 17 years earlier, is now seriously ill and Allie has a difficult decision looming. She is also receiving threats from her sister's attacker, who has suddenly appeared on the scene.

Only the Brave moves at a steady pace, with the whole story taking place over just 48 hours. I found it to be a little rushed at the very end, but comes to a satisfying conclusion. I am intrigued to see what happens to Allie next.

I received an Advance Reader Copy from the publisher through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

No comments:

Post a Comment