Sunday, 20 December 2015

Five amazing crime series I've discovered in 2015

I love crime novels and six series have really stood out for me this year. The books in the first series on my list weren't all published in 2015, but I discovered this forensic crime series this year and read them in order. I look forward to seeing how all these series continue to grow in 2016.

Jen J Danna with Ann Vanderlaan - Abbott & Lowell series (Published by Five Star Publishing)

Dead, Without a Stone to Tell it (28 August 2013)

A taster of my review: It took me just one day to read this book. I loved it. It is an amazing debut. I enjoyed the descriptions and background of the forensic science, as well as the well-rounded characters and fascinating storyline. It makes me realise how some other best-selling series in a similar vein have become tired over time, with complicated stories and not much else. These books are perfect for fans of Kathy Reich and Patricia Cornwell.

Click here to read my full review.

No One Sees Me 'Til I Fall (24 November 2013)

A taster of my review: I read this in one sitting - taking me only around an hour - as I couldn't actually put it down. It was just as good as Jen J Danna's first book, although a mini version as it's a novella rather than a novel. Still, it had all the same components - enjoyable storyline, forensic explanations and good characters.

Click here to read my full review.

A Flame in the Wind of Death (18 April 2014)

A taster of my review: The prologue sucked me into the story straight away with its vivid description of a fire set by an arsonist... This has become a new series for me to follow, and I look forward to the fourth book, which is being published next month (18 February 2015).

Click here for my full review

Two Parts Bloody Murder (18 February 2015)

A taster of my review: A wonderful mixture of historical information, a well-written plotline, forensics and romance. I like the way each chapter starts with a historical fact and how the authors describe the forensics in layperson's terms.

Click here for my full review.


Caroline Mitchell's Jennifer Knight series
(published by Bookouture)

Don't Turn Around (24 April 2015 )

A taster of my review: Don't Turn Around is exactly as it describes itself - a supernatural thriller. It's certainly not run-of-the mill. The book is creepy, intriguing and an enjoyable read.

Click here for my full review

Time to Die (24 September 2015)

A taster of my review: Time to Die is even better than Caroline Mitchell's first novel. You could read it as a standalone, but you will probably enjoy it more if you read Don't Turn Around first... The descriptions tackle all of your senses. It's just as well I don't get nightmares as this certainly keeps your heart racing. I would say it's perfect bedtime reading, but maybe not for the faint-hearted (read it with the lights on)!

Click here to read my full review.

Angela Marsons' Kim Stone series 
(published by Bookouture)

Silent Scream  (20th February 2015)

Snippet of my review: It's highly unusual for me to find a book that leads me to put my life on hold. But Angela Marson's Silent Scream has led me to virtually abandon work for the last day, even with deadlines looming, leaving my house a mess and the ironing pile untouched.

Click here to read my whole review.

Evil Games (29 May 2015)

Snippet from my review: Yet again Angela Marsons has written a 5* crime novel. I loved Silent Scream and was so excited to be given the opportunity to read the next one before publication. Evil Games is certainly as good as the first, if not better, and I wish I could give it a higher rating than 5/5.

Click here to read my whole review.

Lost Girls (6 November 2015)

Snippet from my review: Angela Marsons' books get better and better. I love her style of writing, her believable flawed characters and her plot development. Lost Girls is very cleverly constructed and tackles a highly emotional issue ... This is gripping and addictive reading, hard to put down.

Click here to read my full review.


Marnie Riches' The Girl Who series
(published by Maze/Avon)

The Girl Who Wouldn't Die (2 April 2015)

A taster of my review: This thriller is a great debut. You can tell that the author has had direct experience of the two main locations, with lovely descriptions and insights into both Cambridge and Amsterdam. George is a great character - she's feisty, intelligent and curious, but also has a vulnerable side. And she seems to have a habit of getting heavily involved in difficult situations.

Click here for my full review.

The Girl Who Broke The Rules (20 August 2015)

A taster of my review: I think this book is even better than the first in the series. The writing is fast-paced and highly readable with some graphic and gory descriptions. As the story progresses, the tension builds up and the body count rises. I had no idea about the identity of the murderer, and the culprit was a complete surprise.

Click here for my full review.


Alexandra Sokoloff's Huntress Moon series
(published by Thomas & Mercer)

Huntress Moon  (27 January 2015)

A taster of my review: The book dives straight into the action and doesn't stop, with its fast-paced descriptions and snappy dialogue.  For me, the characters really came alive as the Huntress and Roarke pit their wits against each other. The tension builds up and the two characters get closer to colliding - and when they do, it's quite explosive.

Click here to read my full review.

Blood Moon (27 January 2015)

A taster of my review: Yet again Alexandra Sokoloff has written a great crime thriller. Blood Moon flows at a fast pace with plenty of action to keep the story moving. The plot is cleverly planned and executed and grabbed my attention all the way through.

Click here for my full review.

Cold Moon (5 May 2015)

A taster of my review: Cold Moon is a great crime thriller, with a fascinating story, snappy dialogue and writing that moves at a cracking pace. The book is highly descriptive and filled with suspense and intrigue. I love the cat and mouse 'game' between Roarke and Cara. Plus there are some other great female characters in this book, especially Jade and Rachel.

Click here for my full review.


I must also mention some other crime authors I've discovered too, but I haven't yet managed to read all of their books: Mel Sherratt, Jane Casey, Kate Rhodes, Sarah Hilary, Neil White, Rob Sinclair, Helen Cadbury, Emma Kavanagh and Jane Isaac.


  1. Wow, thank you so much. Am honoured to be amongst such fabulous company. Cheers, lovely XXX

  2. Thanks for including us in your list! And on a personal note, some authors I haven't met yet that I now have the opportunity to dive into myself. Yay!

  3. This is amazing, Victoria. I'm delighted my books made such an impression on you and to see them in such great company. Thanks so much for your support throughout 2015. Marnie xxx